Celebrate Election Heroes






EventsHome Expand Menu   ☰

In The News

See the Archive for articles, letters or news items that are more than 6 months old.

 Students Hold Mock Election to Learn About Voting

Friday, October 30, 2020

Henderson Co. students participated in mock elections sponsored by Students Voting for Democracy. Read the article in the Hendersonville Times-News.


 LWVHC Student Video Contest Winner Turns Political Conflict Into Award Winning Civil Dialogue

Thursday, October 29, 2020

Read and listen on Blue Ridge Public Radio


 That Essential Element: Leadership

Sunday, October 25, 2020

Read LWVHC member and Times-News columnist Mary Garrison's Op Ed  column HERE.


 Don't Panic: VOTE

Friday, October 23, 2020

Read LWVHC letter to the editor in Times-News HERE.


 Analysis of Ballot Fraud Reveals No Threat

Wednesday, October 21, 2020

Read Times-News article HERE.


 Election Information & LWVHC

Thursday, October 8, 2020

Listen HERE to WTZQ fm radio interview with Caren Kessler & Rachel Poller.


 KUDOS TO OUR STUDENT VIDEO CONTEST WINNERS!

Wednesday, October 7, 2020

Check out the 3 winning videos empowering youth voters in our 1st LWVHC Student Video Contest.  1st prize: Bruno Saucedo-Carrasco; 2nd prize: Caroline Pope; 3rd prize: Garrett Jennings

All the winning videos are available on our YouTube channel. Here is additional information about the 2020 Short Video Contest. 

After starting the video, move your cursor over the screen to see the controls. To watch full screen, use the icon in the lower right corner.


First place winner: Bruno Saucedo-Carrasco

Second place winner: Caroline Pope


Third place winner: Garrett Jennings


 An Uphill Battle

Wednesday, October 7, 2020

Read Times-News article "NC Organizers Work to Energize Latino Vote a Month from Election" HERE.  LWVHC volunteers spread the word with 700 postcards (see article photo.)


 League of Their Own

Thursday, October 1, 2020

Read Bold Life article HERE.


 Climb Out Of That Well Of Election Malaise

Sunday, September 27, 2020

Read Times-News op ed by LWVHC member, Mary Garrison, HERE.


 Literacy Council/LWVHC Provide Voter Education Classes

Sunday, September 20, 2020

Read Times-News article HERE.


 Businesses, Groups Work to Register Voters

Wednesday, September 2, 2020

Read Times-News article HERE.


 School Vouchers

Sunday, August 23, 2020

LTE from LWVHC member.  Read HERE.


 Couple Keep Promise with Back-To-School Drive in East Flat Rock

Saturday, August 8, 2020

Read Times-News article HERE.


 Be A Poll Worker

Sunday, July 19, 2020

TImes-News Letter to the Editor. Read letter HERE.


 LWVHC Plans Voter Registration Events

Tuesday, July 14, 2020

Read Times-News article HERE.


 LWVHC Membership Meeting in the News

Friday, June 26, 2020

Read article HERE


 Kathryn Thomas Wins LWVHC Francee Sherman Student Award

Sunday, June 14, 2020

Read Times-News article HERE.


 Henderson County Board of Elections Appreciation Lunch

Friday, November 13, 2020

Board of Elections staff and board appreciate LWVHC "thank you lunch"!


 Polls are Open in District-Wide Mock Election for Students

Wednesday, October 28, 2020

Henderson County Public Schools talks about LWV-HC's Students Voting for Democracy on its website.